top of page
Search

[Review] Jenny Han - The Summer I Turned Pretty (Summer #1)

First of all, forgive me for being disappear almost a year. I got in to a college year and my schedule is so tight. I barely got enough sleep lately. I, temporarily, will leave this world until I got spare time again to read and write another review.


Second, you guys know how I adore covers so much, right? If you guess I bought this buy because the cover is pretty, you're absolutely right! This is another book from Jenny Han. It has three books in the series and this is the first book. I found them (book one and book two) in a random book festival I visited in my friend's city. It looked so cute with the white covers that's why I took them and brought them home with me.


Third, let's review this first book...

Title :  The Summer I Turned Pretty (Summer #1) Author : Jenny Han ISBN : 1416968237 Genre : Young Adult, Romance, Fiction, High School Rating : 3/5 stars

Belly measures her life in summers. Everything good, everything magical happens between the months of June and August. Winters are simply a time to count the weeks until the next summer, a place away from the beach house, away from Susannah, and most importantly, away from Jeremiah and Conrad. They are the boys that Belly has known since her very first summer--they have been her brother figures, her crushes, and everything in between. But one summer, one terrible and wonderful summer, the more everything changes, the more it all ends up just the way it should have been all along.

I love summer. Just like Belly did.


If Belly loves summer because she can meet her dream-boy, Conrad, and his brother, Jeremiah. I love summer because I’ll get a long holiday in summer. Of course, who doesn’t like a long holiday? Everybody likes it.

So, when I read this first serial, I was like… ‘urgh, not interesting’. But after I read it a few chapter, I fell in love with how the plot went it.


Belly was like the other girl who had a crush on a boy she had known from her childhood. But, her feeling got away because the boy she liked didn’t love her back, or that was she think.


Her journey on this summer wouldn’t be the same as the other summer because this summer, she’d already change into a beautiful girl. Even though her face changed, her feeling still remains for Conrad. And that’s never gonna change.

Until then, a boy named Cam came along one day in her summer journey. Cam knew her long ago in the past but Belly didn’t realize that until Cam told her. They became friends in the end. And got closer and closer until they had a relationship. Okay, I didn’t want to spoiler any part of this book, but let me tell you that the end was not exactly like what I expected. I mean, I know there is the second book—and I haven’t read it yet—but I hope Belly got the perfect end. At least, if she didn’t get the perfect end. Let Susannah, Conrad and Jeremiah’s mother, have it. She deserves to live with a happiness, even if it’s just in a book.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Reviews

Hello, good to see you, I mean, I'm glad you decided to visit my blogs and read some reviews of my own. Hope you like my reviews and please, do not bother to give comments everywhere. I would love to

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page