top of page
Search

[Review] Josie Jaffrey - The Wolf and The Water (Deluge #1)


Title : The Wolf and The Water

Author : Josie Jaffrey

Genre : Historical, Fantasy, Romance

Rating : 4/5 stars

Some secrets are worth killing for


The ancient city of Kepos sits in an isolated valley, cut off from the outside world by a towering wall. Behind it, the souls of the dead clamour for release. Or so the priesthood says.


Kala has never had any reason to doubt their word – until her father dies in suspicious circumstances that implicate the city's high priest. She's determined to investigate, but she has a more immediate problem: the laws of the city require her mother to remarry straight away.


Kala's new stepfather is a monster, but his son Leon is something altogether more dangerous: kind.


With her family fractured and the investigation putting her life in danger, the last thing Kala needs is romance. She would rather ignore Leon entirely, however difficult he makes it. But when she learns the truth of what really clamours behind the wall at the end of the valley, she faces a choice: share what she knows and jeopardise her escape, or abandon him to his fate along with the rest of the city.


If she doesn't move fast, then no one will make it out of the valley alive.

I love Greek mythology, that's why I love PJO series so much, and this book, make me add another one to my favorite greek mythology.


The main character, Kala, lived in Kepos, the ancient city in the book. The setting was like Atlantis (and I do adore Atlantis, first myth I've ever known!) with some barriers (or walls) and other world behind those barriers. Kala is fighting for her life by escaping the city and run away from her cruel step father, not to mention the city was sinking.


I love how the authors described Kala's journey and appearance. She's definitely turning into a brave girl on her journey. Tho I adore her stepbrother, Leon, I was hoping Kala's love life would turn into an amazing story. I love how she creates connections with other characters and make her character grows strong plot by plot. I didn't expect her lovestory would end up like that *definitely not saying or I will spoiler it* but it's good to me.


I'm thanking to the author who provides and gives me chance to read this book. It was a nice read and fit to everyone who loves historical mixed with some fantasies and romance. I love the genres and if you have the same genres as I do, then I hope you read this one too

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Reviews

Hello, good to see you, I mean, I'm glad you decided to visit my blogs and read some reviews of my own. Hope you like my reviews and please, do not bother to give comments everywhere. I would love to

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page