top of page
Search

[Review] Marissa Meyer - Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles #1)

I do love fairytales. How about you guys? 

Lunar Chronicles tells us about a character in fairytale but in a different way. This is more modern and the stuggles are a lot harder than the classic fairytale we all knew. When I read the title, it reminds me of Cinderella with her blue shoes. But this Cinderella was in red shoes (and that's better cause I like red, hahaha) This Cinderella is epic!

Title :  Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles #1) Author : Marissa Meyer ISBN : 9780312641894 Genre : Young Adult, Romance, Fiction, Fantasy Rating : 4/5 stars



Sixteen-year-old Cinder is considered a technological mistake by most of society and a burden by her stepmother. Being cyborg does have its benefits, though: Cinder's brain interference has given her an uncanny ability to fix things (robots, hovers, her own malfunctioning parts), making her the best mechanic in New Beijing. This reputation brings Prince Kai himself to her weekly market booth, needing her to repair a broken android before the annual ball. He jokingly calls it "a matter of national security," but Cinder suspects it's more serious than he's letting on.

Although eager to impress the prince, Cinder's intentions are derailed when her younger stepsister, and only human friend, is infected with the fatal plague that's been devastating Earth for a decade. Blaming Cinder for her daughter's illness, Cinder's stepmother volunteers her body for plague research, an "honor" that no one has survived.


But it doesn't take long for the scientists to discover something unusual about their new guinea pig. Something others would kill for.




I bet anyone have already read this book.


Yep, I guess so.


I just started to read this book in May (you may check in my instagram cause I totally forget about it) for five till six hours. I started five p.m and finished at 10 p.m. Okay, that’s five. New record!


My first thought about this book was, oh this book was like Sailor Moon. Anyone know Sailor Moon? It’s an anime from Japan, the story was about a warrior turned out to be a princess of the moon, Princess Serena. Her lover was Prince Endymion, which is Prince of the Earth. Just like Cinder and Kai.


But—there is always a ‘but’ in every story, yes, it is!—Sailor Moon wasn’t a cyborg and the prince of the earth wasn’t an emperor. Cinder had aunt while Sailor Moon don’t.

Okay, I should stop comparing both of them.


I never imagined Cinder would have a terrible history in her past. Her mother died, her aunt tried to kill her, and she had a horrible step mother. Lucky for her one of her step sister, Peony, was nice to her.


If the real Cinderella had a fairy godmother, found her true love, and ended her story with a happy ending. Not with Cinder. Okay, maybe she had her stepsister to be her fairy godmother and she did dancing with the prince. Unfortunately, she didn’t get the happy ending in her story.


At least, not yet.


Marissa Meyer is a creative author. She mixed some fairy tales we know into a modern story in the future, with some extra complicated plot. She made the characters met in one condition to do a mission and then they knew each other and become friends.

I couldn’t wait my self for reading the second book cause I want to know how’s Cinder face her destiny and meet the other characters in other books!

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Reviews

Hello, good to see you, I mean, I'm glad you decided to visit my blogs and read some reviews of my own. Hope you like my reviews and please, do not bother to give comments everywhere. I would love to

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page