top of page
Search

[Review] Stephanie Garber - Caraval (Caraval Series #1)

Hello guys, I'm back! I'm so sorry for disappearing for almost two years. I got into college and it's super busy every day. I got no time to open my blog and only open my Instagram account to update a few things. But don't worry, hard times are over and I've graduated so I will so much time to fill this blog by reviews.


This caraval book was read during the quarantine time on campus. You won't believe me but I read this while I'm making my final report. The final report is so confusing that's why I need some distractions to refresh my brain.


Caraval is a good book, I do love how Stephanie wrote everything down to detail. It's like I was inside the book, watching the characters playing and feel the emotion that rise up between them. Well, I must not say it much here, so here comes my review...

Title :  Caraval (Caraval Series #1) Author : Stephanie Garber ISBN : 1250095255 Genre : Adventure, Fantasy, Romance Rating : 4/5 stars

Scarlett Dragna has never left the tiny island where she and her sister, Tella, live with their powerful, and cruel, father. Now Scarlett’s father has arranged a marriage for her, and Scarlett thinks her dreams of seeing Caraval—the faraway, once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the show—are over.


But this year, Scarlett’s long-dreamt-of invitation finally arrives. With the help of a mysterious sailor, Tella whisks Scarlett away to the show. Only, as soon as they arrive, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval’s mastermind organizer, Legend. It turns out that this season’s Caraval revolves around Tella, and whoever finds her first is the winner.

Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. Nevertheless, she becomes enmeshed in a game of love, heartbreak, and magic.

I can tell Tella was a brave girl and not scared of anything while Scarlett-in order to protect her sister-would do everything including sacrifice her own freedom and her dreams.


At the first glance, I thought Scarlett was a weak girl who didn't have many chances to stand up again her own choices. She listened to her father obediently and never spoke back. If you have a good father, it's okay to do that. But to have a father like Scarlett's even I would speak back when he did such cruel things.


Overall, I love the journey when Scarlett began to find Tella. All the mysteries, all the questions that lingered in her brain, about the Caraval itself, Julian-the boy that happened to help her escaped her own father-the people inside Caraval. The plot was unpredictable. While reading it, I thought about many plots about the ending but none of them became real. In fact, it leads me to a different ending that made me so curious about the next book. Especially the mysterious Master of Caraval, Legend.


Stephanie Garber really succeeds to make readers fell into her books, this one was the proof. I fell to deep when I read Caraval. It's like I was there, watching Scarlett doing her quests and tried to reveal them in order to save her sister. I probably wish that someday this book will be a major movie

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Reviews

Hello, good to see you, I mean, I'm glad you decided to visit my blogs and read some reviews of my own. Hope you like my reviews and please, do not bother to give comments everywhere. I would love to

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page